Sprechen Sie Deutsch?

Another pet project of mine is learning German. It is something I have always wanted to do but I’ve never had the time. You might be wondering why on earth I want to learn German so badly. I have a very simple, albeit very dorky reason. I’ve always wanted to learn two foreign languages: German and Italian. Unfortunately during my High School education I got stuck with French and Spanish.  I live in Antigua so there wasn’t really much hope that I could find extra German classes elsewhere.  I’ve always wanted to learn German because some of my favourite music composers are German. I love Bach, Beethoven, Handel, Mozart (and although he isn’t from ages ago, I absolutely adore Hans Zimmer) and I wanted to visit their birth country. I thought: how cool would it be if when I visit, I’d know the language?  So, thanks to Rosetta Stone I have been doing German for a couple months now. I admit that it is not as consistent as I’d like it to be, I keep getting distracted by so many things but it is a really interesting experience. I even have a couple favourite words, tschüss which I use to sign off on the blog is one of them. It should be obvious by now if you have been reading along that it means goodbye. I’m not sure why it is one of my favourite words. I think it might have something to do with the fact that I just really, really, really like saying it. My second favourite word is spülbecken. Considering the fact it means kitchen sink, I’m not sure how often I will be able to sneak that word into casual conversation.

When I started learning German my dream was to do a course at one of the  Goethe Institutes in Germany. The plan was to use Rosetta Stone until I got my German up to a proper level and then take an intensive course for about three weeks. I wanted to try to schedule it for summer 2012 but that fell through. Over the summer of 2012, I will be doing my internships for Law School. So now I have no idea when it will come about. But, I am determined to make sure it happens. I will continue with the Rosetta Stone until I have an opening where I have the time and I can afford the Goethe Institute. Hey, you never know – the longer I wait, maybe the less I will need an intensive language course. I can imagine me now – strolling down a street in Frankfurt or Düsseldorf, stepping into a cafe and ordering a latte in fluent German before reading a newspaper. Okay, it might take a couple years before this would happen but a girl can dream right?

I can’t wait to see how this turns out.

Tschüss

2 thoughts on “Sprechen Sie Deutsch?

Share Your Thoughts!!!

