Legally Blonde! + My Writing Dream! (and yes, there is a correlation)

Recently I watched Legally Blonde for what must have been the seventh time. I remember once it was a homework assignment. I kid you not. At my first Criminal Law Class my lecturer (who is amazing) walked into class, introduced himself and told us to go home and watch Legally Blonde. Needless to say, no one really took him seriously. I didn’t quite take him seriously either but I knew that I would not pass up on the opportunity to actually watch Legally Blonde as a part of a homework assignment. I was positive that I would be able to tell this tale someday. Alas! The time has come.

At our second class, he explained to us the reason behind his insistence that we watch the movie. He said that  as it concerned the actual law, it was absolute rubbish so we need not take any of that into consideration. What was important, he said, was for us to consider the determination and drive that Elle Woods possessed. He wanted us to acknowledge that it was not how you started out but the way you ended up and sometimes it is okay to strive for what might seem impossible.

So how in the world does this relate to writing? Is it that I have way too much time on my hands and I’m busy  looking for correlations? Maybe. But not completely. Elle Woods never gave up. I admit that there were several points during the movie where I thought to myself, Elle it’s time for you to go home honey it isn’t working out for you. How wrong was I? She stuck there, she persevered and she made it happen. Even though at times she was laughed at (several times actually) and no one took her seriously. When I thought about Elle and I thought about my fear of failure it became apparent to me that after I finished my novel I had to put it out there. I’m still not sure which route I plan to take with it but I’ve removed the putting it in a drawer from my list of options. If it so happens that everyone and their mother’s best friend hates my book then I’ll just have to dust myself off, utilize several boxes of Kleenex before I regroup and try again.

I’ll call it my Legally Blonde Revelation. It’s not how you start out but the way you end the game.

 

Tschüss

2 thoughts on “Legally Blonde! + My Writing Dream! (and yes, there is a correlation)

  1. Well first congratulations on finishing your manuscript! Huge accomplishment! I am also an aspiring author and I loved your post! I found it very empowering. My only question is have you ever considered attending a book conference? I have attended the Pacific Northwest Writers Association conference for the past two years, and now have a stack of interested agents and editors (Penguin to name one) who are interested in my manuscript. Meaning when I finally do finish my manuscript I can send it to them directly and avoid the slush pile entirely. I love conferences for this reason, not only do you get to pitch to agents and editors directly but you also get to meet other writers and make fabulous friendships with them. 😀 I wish you all the best of luck. 😀 & again congratulations! 😀

  2. Thanks tons! I’m not actually finished the manuscript yet so I’ve not really looked into any publishing options yet. Good luck to you! I can’t wait to be able to read your book in print.

Share Your Thoughts!!!

