It’s All In Your Head…!!!

 

It is almost 2013 and I’m about to begin my Old Year’s Cleaning. This is kind of like Spring-cleaning with one major difference. I’m not cleaning out the cobwebs, mopping the floors or adding a new coat of paint to the rooms of my home as I would with Spring-cleaning. Instead I’m cleaning out those cobwebs and planning how I want to redecorate my life. It is quite an interesting and helpful process but I’ll tell you more about it later.

 

Have you missed me? I’ve been so MIA sometimes I fear I’ve got no readers left :). There’s not much I can say except that the last couple months have been really hectic. Despite the ‘I want to pull out my hair and scream at the top of my lungs while my life descends in chaos around me’ theme of the last couple months I wouldn’t trade them for the world. There has been a lot of growth and new perspective gained.

 

I’ve learned (and developed enough balls) to at times challenge things head on. Sometimes being a timid-Sally isn’t all it is cracked up to be. I’ve also learned though that Kenny Rogers passed down the best advice ever in “The Gambler”. In addition to knowing when to fight for things, it is essential to know when to back down. One friend said to me today in essence that life is like Cross Examination (what Elle Woods (Reese Witherspoon’s character in Legally Blonde) was doing when she got the pool boy who said he was having an affair with his client to make it slip that he was gay).  You might be thinking and what can that possibly have to do with life. Well, as my friend rightly said, you need to decide what you want to achieve and at the same time what you CAN achieve and work with the happy medium. Overshooting and undershooting will both set you back.

 

I’ve learned though that although you must have your limits in mind. Sometimes failure is all down to what’s in your head (and I’m not talking about knowledge).

 

I’ve always one of those people who believed more in matter over mind than mind over matter. Then, something interesting happened that has altered my perspective. I’ve been living on the sixth floor of University accommodation for the last three months without a working elevator. To say it is a sore point for me (both figuratively and literally) is an understatement. Climbing up six flights of stairs everyday isn’t something I aspire to do. Now imagine having to do this with groceries or after legs day at the gym *shudders*!

 

I developed this tedious routine that involved counting each flight of stairs with a growing level of agitation and desperation while I made my way to the top. A week ago I thought of trying something different. I told myself I would not start counting until I got to the third flight of stairs. The logic (even thought it was a hard sell to myself) was that if while on the third flight of stairs I believed I had six more to go, the sixth floor would come more quickly. I figured I could reduce my level of torture by pretending that things were worse than they really were. And you know what? It’s been working. Just one brief tweak to my thoughts made the most annoying daily chore a bit less of a chore.

 

How does this fit into my Old Year’s Cleaning? I have a plan for the upcoming year. I’m going to bite of a bit more of life than I think I can reasonably chew. Then I’ll see just how much impact my mind has on whether or not I succeed. There is the possibility that I might choke but there is also the possibility I might end up coming for seconds. And that is one hell of a reason to try!

 

Photo Credit: "Businessman Cover Head" by pakornwww.freedigitalphotos.net
Photo Credit: “Businessman Cover Head” by pakorn
http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

 

 

 

Tschuss,

 

Rilzy

Share Your Thoughts!!!

