Home Is Where The Heart Is, The Mind Wanders and What The Soul Longs For

Antigua is, in Antiguan dialect, where my ‘navel string bury’ meaning where my umbilical cord was cut and where I’ve taken my first breath. No matter how far or close I roam, I will always crave the familiarity that only comes with being home.

I love Jamaica. With the exception of school getting in the way  and thrusting the cool level far below what it is meant to be. However, there are always those moments when I long for home. Antigua has made an indelible mark on my soul – growing up there has played a role in all that I am now and what I will eventually become. Sometimes I lie in bed and recall my childhood when I’m homesick. The childhood which was filled with double-dog-daring cousins to climb coconut trees and falling out of mango trees myself … early morning sunrises at the beach and playing cricket in my backyard. Sometimes I’m too homesick for replaying happy memories like a slideshow. That’s when I’m happy for the photos that can put me right into the middle of our City and can force me to close my eyes to remember the sounds, the hums, the rhythm of a day in the life at home. It is the closest I will come to home for the next seven months… so I’ll like to share with you a few photos taken by one of my friends which definitely sum up a stroll through St. Johns.

Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
Photo Credit: Zayne AirallI long for the colourful streets.
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
I long for the colourful streets.
Photo Credit: Zayne AirallVendors' Mall
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
Vendors’ Mall
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall

Photo Credit: Zayne AirallBig Banana Restaurant ... they don't sell bananas but definitely the best pizza in the world (but I just might be biased)

Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
Big Banana Restaurant … they don’t sell bananas but definitely the best pizza in the world (but I just might be biased)

Photo Credit: Zayne Airall

Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
Photo Credit: Zayne AirallLocal Antiguan Black Pineapples... yumm
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
Local Antiguan Black Pineapples… yumm
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall

603249_10152103274621953_1759719679_n

Photo Credit: Zayne AirallI've attended so many food fairs on the lawns of this Methodist Church .... always anxious to buy used books at a discounted price.
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
I’ve attended so many food fairs on the lawns of this Methodist Church …. always anxious to buy used books at a discounted price.
Photo Credit: Zayne AirallSculpture of our first Prime Minister, the Hon Vere Cornwall Bird Snr.
Photo Credit: Zayne Airall
Sculpture of our first Prime Minister, the Hon Vere Cornwall Bird Snr.

I hope you enjoyed this virtual trip as much as I did.

Tschuss.

Rilzy

One thought on “Home Is Where The Heart Is, The Mind Wanders and What The Soul Longs For

Share Your Thoughts!!!

