Summer’ing it Like a Caribbean Girl

In six weeks I’m going to be trading in my Caribbean sunshine for rainy London.  So, right now I’m on a mission to have the most sunshine-y summer of my life. I have a feeling I might need to look back at photos of blue beaches and blue skies soon enough.

I figured I would share some snaps of what a Caribbean summer life is like.

1. The warmth means there is always time for an ice-cream cool down or possibly frozen fruit!

There’s an ice cream parlour in the heart of Saint John’s named ‘Australian Homemade’ which serves what I think is the most amazing ice-cream ever (yes, I am biased and yes, I don’t care). Sorry, Häagen-Dazs. There’s nothing more refreshing than sitting down with sorbet or ice-cream and watching the world go by.

Forest Fruit Sorbet from Australian Homemade.
Forest Fruit Sorbet from Australian Homemade.
Just about my favourite ice-cream combination... ever.
Just about my favourite ice-cream combination… ever.

 

I’ve also discovered that slicing mangoes and freezing them provides a really nice, cold snack. But, then I’ve realized that you can do just about anything to mangoes. De.li.cious!

Frozen Mangoes!!! Need I say more?
Frozen Mangoes!!! Need I say more?

 

 

2. Driving may become distracting because you want to stop for photos of amazing scenery. There are a couple people whizzing around Antigua annoyed at my random pulling off to the side of the road because I couldn’t resist the temptation.

Nothing like puffy white clouds and blue seas.
Nothing like puffy white clouds and blue seas.

 

So many shades of blues, so little time!
So many shades of blues, so little time!

 

 

3. Opening the sunroof is never optional!

What’s better than driving past amazing scenery, listening to reggae music (I love Protoje – check him out here) while on your way for an ice-cream cool down? Glancing up while waiting at stop lights to see blue skies and sunshine of course!

See the sunshine, feel the sunshine!
See the sunshine, feel the sunshine!

 

 

4. Drinks are always better in the sunshine or warm evening breezes. This needs no further explanation!

 

Couldn't figure if wanted to drink the cocktail or the scenery.
Couldn’t figure if wanted to drink the cocktail or the scenery.
IMG_20130807_171903
I feel like this Corona was right where it belonged!

 

10 Stars for the Pineapple Starfish Garnish, I couldn't even eat it ... too pretty.
10 Stars for the Pineapple Starfish Garnish, I couldn’t even eat it … too pretty.

 

5. There’s no party like a Cricket Party! Cricket is an important part of Caribbean life. Many of us grew up playing cricket in our backyard, on the beaches on the school playground. It’s just that most of us hated watching Test Matches because they were so long. Introduce the 20/20 format and the amazing time you can have on the stands and our generation is becoming interested in cricket again. A cricket match is an amazing way to spend a summer evening and you’ll probably be hoarse come morning.

Match Time.
Match Time.
Light it up!

 

Cheerleaders: Caribbean Style
Cheerleaders: Caribbean Style

 

Wave your flags!
Antigua v Barbados. Wave your flags!

 

It was a fun night. My Stepfather is Bajan and it was hilarious watching him wave the sole Barbadian flag during the match. Especially because, well, they lost!

 

6. Did I mention the views? Nothing like the views you get when hitting up some of my favourite lookout spots as well as the beaches.

 

Shirley's Heights, Antigua Photo Credit: www.visitantiguaandbarbuda.com
Shirley’s Heights, Antigua
Photo Credit: http://www.visitantiguaandbarbuda.com
Block House, Antigua.
Block House, Antigua.
Traditional English Phone Box inside the Nelson's Dockyard, Antigua
Traditional English Phone Box inside the Nelson’s Dockyard, Antigua
Chilling from my beach chair at Long Bay, Antigua
Chilling from my beach chair at Long Bay, Antigua
Devil's Bridge, Antigua
Devil’s Bridge, Antigua

 

And so concludes a small photo tour of what a summer in the life of any Caribbean girl probably looks like (although this could be pretty much any day of the year). On second thoughts, I mightn’t actually want to look at these photos during the London winter. I might burst into tears.

 

Tschuss

Rilzy

5 thoughts on “Summer’ing it Like a Caribbean Girl

  1. Loved every second of this article , so nice to read about the Caribbean through Caribbean eyes. All the best in London, enjoy every sec on that experience too

  2. Breathtaking photos that you will certainly look upon fondly when you move to gray, drizzly London. It’s wonderful that you have an appreciation for where you live. You’re a very lucky gal!

Share Your Thoughts!!!

