You’re Going to Hear Me ROAR ‘cuz I’m BRAVE

I believe that there are moments in life that are so perfectly timed that they cannot be anything but destiny in motion.

This morning I was prepared to write a blog on Katy Perry’s ‘Roar‘ and Sara Bareilles’ ‘Brave‘. In case you haven’t heard either of them you should check them out. They are amazingly inspirational songs which just so happen to sound a lot like each other. A lot. There is a storm of controversy (might be exaggerating a tad here) about the fact that Katy Perry’s song was released well after Sara Bareilles’ and accusations of copying abound. To make a blog a sentence, having been offended on behalf of Sara Bareilles’ I realized that it didn’t matter. The songs approached standing up for yourself in two different manners. Sara encourages you to speak out and not to be silenced. Katy encourages you not only to speak out but be bold in your actions as well. The beats are dead similar yes, but in a world where the bulk of songs are about sex, drugs, unrequited love, partying and being gangsta, it is refreshing to listen to songs that make you feel good about yourself and to stand up for yourself. Of course, I was going to write a longer blog about life has called for a blogjack.

Something amazing happened.

In preparation for the blog I loaded both songs on a playlist (because I think it is inspiring). I was at the same time on Facebook (because I am addicted) when a message came in from one of my friends asking me why I had yet to buy the domain http://www.rilzy.com.

This mightn’t seem extraordinary except that buying the domain name was something I have been toying with for a long time. It wasn’t that I didn’t have access to money to purchase it. I still use my mother’s credit card on the low key (I’ll have to confess this purchase to her…. eventually). It also wasn’t expensive at all. It was a confidence issue. It was kind of like… why would I do something like buy a domain? That’s serious. That’s a statement. That’s like me saying “I am here to stay.” I didn’t believe I had earned the right to buy the domain yet. But something about my friend’s message caught my attention. She said:

…if you really love rilzy you should buy it NOW, cuz it is available as a .com and thats like a miracle to have such a short domain name available these days.

I had never actually thought of that before. I hadn’t ever considered that when I decided I had earned the right to this domain name it might be gone. For some, incredibly short sighted, reason I thought it would be there whenever I decided I was ready. Silly rabbit. I’ve lived long enough to know that life does not work in that manner. But still, I told her that I was afraid I’d be taking myself too seriously. And this is what she said:

Take yourself “too” seriously. If you don’t then no one will. Go ahead do it…

My eyes filled with tears. Mostly because I am a sap but also because it is a special kind of miracle when someone tells you something you need to hear exactly when you need to hear it. Then, something magickal happened (PS: I know I put a ‘k’ in it – a post for another day). Remember I had that playlist of Brave and Roar playing? It had become background music during this back and forth on Facebook. I wasn’t really listening to the songs. I tuned back into “Roar” at the very moment Katy Perry sang:

Now I’m floating like a butterfly
Stinging like a bee I earned my stripes
I went from zero, to my own hero
You held me down, but I got up

I couldn’t make this up. There was nothing I could do but decide that it was all a sign and I should go ahead and take my friend’s advice. I noticed something else too. I had long said the difference between “Roar” and “Brave” was that Katy Perry spoke about a relationship where someone kept another person from being all that they could be. It never occurred to me that Katy could have been speaking about herself. Because in that moment, I realized that I was the one holding myself down. So credit card in hand I decided that “I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter, dancing through the fire.” And that “I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me ROAR.” I am kind of out of practice at “roaring” to be honest but I have lots of lemons in the fridge for the sore throat that might be coming up. 🙂

During the purchase the Katy Perry song finished and “Brave” came on. By the time it came to the point of purchasing the domain name, Sara was singing many things through my headphones. Most important, “Say what you want to say. Let the words fall out. Honestly, I want to see you be Brave…” and “show me how big your Brave is.” I’m not sure how big my brave is yet but it was big enough to click the purchase button. I also danced for about thirty seconds in a very happy, though uncoordinated, manner.

Just before I took the plunge!
Just before I took the plunge!

So… I now have claimed my domain name. Thanks to a good friend with wise words (thank you Ari. I love you) and a bit of nudging from two of the most unlikely people ever. I feel immensely proud of myself right now. I’ll have to confess this purchase to my mother soon… I’ll tell her that I will never, ever, ever buy anything else ;). But I had something really important to do… *drumroll please* I updated my Twitter profile to take the .wordpress out of my website!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Then proceeded to type: www.rilzy.com in my browser about fifteen times.
I then proceeded to type: http://www.rilzy.com in my browser about fifteen times to make sure it “worked.”

Let’s all be Brave!!

Tschuss

Rilzy

One thought on “You’re Going to Hear Me ROAR ‘cuz I’m BRAVE

Share Your Thoughts!!!

