Make It Extraordinary!

The downside to moving to a new country is eventually the adventure wears off and you have to settle down to every day living. It becomes a case of same shit, different locale. For the past couple days (as my poor mother can attest) I was terribly unhappy which I attribute mostly to being very homesick. But, as I learned years ago life has a way of turning around when you force it to. Today, I decided to emerge from my bedroom where I’ve been holed up for quite a while gorging on as many ebooks as I could afford (in one of my more optimistic moments I removed my mum’s credit card from my Amazon account and replaced it with my own – so, I’m on a VERY strict budget regarding my beloved ebooks because well you know… I’m broke).

I decided to join my course mate and his girlfriend along with another course mate for a tour of the Wildlife Photograph of the Year exhibition at the Natural History Museum in South Kensington.
The exhibit was amazing, my favourite photo being one of the Northern Lights in Iceland reminding me that I really need to start checking items off my bucket list earlier than I attempted to do so in Jamaica. However after an hour of wandering around the exhibit and coffee we all went our separate ways and I headed off in search of a Starbucks to try to boost my NanoWrimo word count for a couple hours before meeting a friend for belated birthday drinks. Well, I intended to head off in search of a Starbucks.

Here’s what happened instead.

The Natural History Museum sets up an ice-skating rink from the end of October until sometime in January. While walking by the rink I thought to myself ‘wouldn’t it be fun to try that?’… that thought was quickly followed by a ‘don’t be an idiot Ril, you will break your neck.’ I managed to convince myself that it was a bad idea and then went ahead and did what I usually do with my bad ideas… I went through with it anyway.

That is how I found myself twenty minutes later holding on to a barrier for dear life while trying to acquaint myself with ice skates as a four year old skated around me. Eventually I was able to let go of the barrier long enough to inch myself to the middle of the rink to get a photo near to the Christmas tree, then I inched my way back to the barrier where I stayed for the rest of my session. I haven’t been more terrified nor have I had so much fun in a while.

After the skating I made my way up to the Cafe where I was able to have lunch and coffee while working on my NanoWrimo plot. When I’m done since I have a bit more time before I have to meet my friend I will be heading down to the carousel, something I haven’t done since I was a child. It is beginning to look a lot like Christmas in London and I’m beginning to see that life can be extraordinary each day and in whatever locale if you put in the effort to make it so.

Do something risky today!

20131106-164033.jpg

Tschuss,

Rilzy

One thought on “Make It Extraordinary!

  1. Cool! Well done you! Loving the pic.
    I really like how one moment you were thinking you must cross things off your bucket list and the next you thought – ice skating, wouldn’t that be fun. It may not have been on your original bucket list, but the intent was there – you’re building up to that trip to Iceland!
    Glad we buddied up on NaNo – hope it’s going well! Good luck with the rest of the week! Cat x

Share Your Thoughts!!!

