Build It and They Will Come

If everything goes accordingly to plan I will be a published author before the 13th of February 2015. Yes, when I tell people that I write and they ask the invariable question ‘Have you been published?’, I will be able to say, “My novella ‘Sail With Me’ is up on Amazon US and UK for less than the cost of a cup of coffee.”

I can’t begin to describe to you how excited, though nervous, I am about this development. It has been nearly two years (and hundreds of thousands of words) since I made the decision to go down the self-publishing road. I am a lawyer and I love it (most of the times) but it is a time consuming career. I didn’t want to work according to anyone’s schedule but my own. There has been a lot of self-doubt, a lot of self – reflection and a whole lot of fear but I’ve decided that holding back is no longer the way to go. There is nothing to be gained from cowering in fear.

I’ve always dreamed of being able to put out books which afford people a short break from reality. I remember the hours I’ve spend curled into my teddy bear reading romance novels and how much happiness it brought me. I’ve wanted for as long as I could to repeat this for someone else. Of course a huge fear is that the book will not get noticed. The e-book market is a huge one. There is the distinct possibility that my book won’t be easily discovered amongst all the competition. However, I realized that this has never been meant to be a quick journey. I am, as I’ve always been, in it for the long haul. I have seven novellas currently in various stages on the journey to publishing and I intend to get working on full length novels soon. I figure if I keep focused on growing as a writer and putting out good quality work, eventually I will reach the people I dream of.

Build it and They Come.

Excuse me while I get my hammer ready.

Tschuss,

Rilzy

Share Your Thoughts!!!

